As I Lay Sideways

So, I usually don’t have many health issues, but one that has my head tipped sideways currently is earwax. I guess you could call it a metaphor for how I let things build up until they become problems, but it is definitely annoying. I’ve finally gotten serious about treating it since it has caused me to stop hearing from my left ear, but the trouble is, it is way back in my ear (my efforts with a Q-tip have only made it worse). Now I am doing treatments of hydrogen peroxide and rinses of water, and I am trying to clear my ear out in time to go sing karaoke.

Oh, by the way: hi to anyone back home reading this, since I am on vacation.

Anyhow, this leads me to now, where I am trying to type on my friend’s tablet with a small keyboard, cursing myself for letting my ear go this long and wondering how many more treatments I have to go before I can hear normally once more.

I lay
sideways
diagonal to purpose
in awkward array
displayed
balance off from the tilt
facing none but my guilt
for having to be this way.

All the times I wouldn’t sing
and now, it seems ironic
– fitting –
that when I’d like to
the Universe pulls a prank
that could only have been
orchestrated
by me.

Leave a Reply

