Betrayed

They flow like water onto the page
cascade from fingers familiar with keys
and for a moment, it sets me free
forgets and forgives the self I see.

But what is this?
I open my mouth
heart palpitates
the tongue beats arrhythmic pulse
and the words stutter
the words
flutter
the words melt
like too much butter
and suddenly I stand naked
as your eyes bore into me
and I realize
too late
that the words cannot save me

heat comes to my face
as I am betrayed
the words on the page are friends always
unless
I must speak, then the words are gone
and you,
like the words,
have moved along.

Leave a Reply

