Hygiene

she hovers over me
eyes kind
and I wonder at her grace
as she parts my lips
what is this place?
my body dips
back until up is down
slightly dizzy
she puts rubber fingers to my face
and says “open wider”
and “turn your head towards me”
some discomfort then
pinches, pokes, prods
’til my lips go numb
like winter’s kiss
sensation dulls
and all of this
is under bright light
while the masked fallen angel
is humor and dim pain
until I am purged
and the sins of my mouth absolved.

Leave a Reply

