Catch the Wind


I think we may be living in the best time period for the overwhelming availability of music. The internet, of course, has the largest role in this, but even if it didn’t exist portable hard drives and ever-expanding flash memory capacity would have gotten us there. I’m grateful to be living in this time for that reason. Imagine living in the middle ages and trying to track down a minstrel across half of Europe to hear a song again!

I have many passions in music (a stranger one recently for me is electronica in various forms), one that stands out is my love of psychedelic/acid rock. It covers a wide range and goes outside of its own genre because everyone was experimenting back then. For instance, Donovan Leitch’s “Catch the Wind” is decidedly more folk in sound (I also love folk music, both classical and modern), but it’s a great song if you haven’t heard it.

To really dig into psychedelic rock sound, though, you need to feel the pulse of a rock organ, overdrive your guitar just a little, pluck the sitar, tap that tambourine and dance to the flute. If you’re interested in tasting a sampling of this, I have some recommendations for you to look up: “Green Tambourine” by The Lemon Pipers is pretty well known, “Pictures of Matchstick Men” by The Status Quo is less known but fun, you may have occasionally heard “Incense and Peppermints” by Strawberry Alarm Clock on the radio once in a blue moon, “White Rabbit” by Jefferson Airplane is a classic, “Season of the Witch” by Donovan Leitch is a good one (I love a lot of Donovan’s works). If that sampling doesn’t interest you then, well, I tried at least.

Lyrical music is at its best when the words stand as a poem on their own. I’m not going to tell you all of these fit the bill, but there is an undeniable connection between poetry and music. Poems have a music of their own, pulsing with rhythms that can be analyzed using scansion. I don’t always want to analyze though; sometimes I just feel that rhythm wash over me like music and let it carry me off on the tide for a moment.

music man, laughing man, play me a tune
we’ll howl in the night by the light of the Moon
hurdy man, gurdy man, give me a song
sing it before the notes have all gone

black woman, magic woman, play your guitar
carry your strings inside of my car
wild woman, witch woman, by flute or string,
inspire me while you have time left to sing

music man, laughing man, play me a tune
as much as you can; you’ll have to leave soon
hurdy man, gurdy man, give me a song
your age on this world will not be long

black woman, magic woman, play your guitar
you pass in the night like the brightest of stars
wild woman, gypsy woman, sing with me, dance,
your world wasn’t mine, I was given no chance.

One thought on “Catch the Wind

  1. I always have too much to say about Donovan Leitch. You owe it to yourself to listen to “The Voyage of the Moon,” “What a Beautiful Creature You Are,” “Sand and Foam,” and “There is an Ocean.” Also, “Hurdy-Gurdy Man” and “Sunshine Superman” are good psychedelic music from him as well.

Leave a Reply

